YMR Track Club

Last updated:

This post is also available in: German

If a brand is called the Swedish “Tracksmith”, my interest is aroused. Especially since I have only had the best experiences with Scandinavian manufacturers so far.

Sponsored Post: YMR Track Club provided me with the products for this review at my request. This had no influence on the content of my post. The article is written indipendently and reflects exclusively my personal experiences.

YMR Track Club

The still young label was only founded in 2017. Peter Häggström Lindecrantz wanted to revive the style of his club IK Ymer from the 70s. Actually, it was probably only meant to celebrate the 100th birthday of the club, but it quickly became more than that – which was probably not entirely unconnected to an article in the Vogue. ;)

Peter produces his clothes only locally, using the long textile tradition of the Sjuhärad region in Västergötland where he lives. To him, recycling is a big priority and so the collection Norr Mälarstrand is made from the polyester of recycled PET bottles. Of course, the fabrics are certified Eko-Tex Class1 and his factory probably also adheres to high environmental standards.

Review

Norr Mälarstrand Tight

Price
88 Euro
Time frame
3 weeks

If you click through the offer on the YMR Track Club website, you will quickly notice that the colours of the pieces are simply really good. The Norr Mälarstrand Tight is not only available in this beautiful wine red, but also in blue and green. You can see the 70s style – especially when it comes to the cuffs and the closure cord. Yes, this is an old-school cord. Not made of hemp, but similarly unyielding. ;)

But old-school doesn’t mean unfashionable. Of course, it was also thought of a smartphone pocket in the back. And that really can be transported there comfortably.

The material, designed for cold winter temperatures, has also been provided with small reflective applications. The leg end is secured by a rubber, but has no zipper. I really liked the fit overall – even though the tight is not as tight on top as I am used to from other models. So it makes sense to use the drawstring as well. ;)

Review

Norr Mälarstrand Longsleeve

Price
73 Euro
Time frame
3 weeks

You won’t find quite as classic elements in the Norr Mälarstrand Longsleeve. I think it is rather very modern. And not only because of the recycled material!

It has a very pleasant cut: not too wide, not too tight. Just the way I like to wear it. What struck me most, apart from the beautiful colour, is the structure of the fabric. It has a waffle-like surface and is also pleasantly soft – almost luxurious. ;)

The details have not been forgotten by YMR Track Club either. So there is a very practical thumb hole, which is so well “hidden” that I had overlooked it at first.

Review

Warmup Beanie

Price
19 Euro
Time frame
3 weeks

On top of it (little play on words) I also got a cap for testing. And “warm cap” really means warm in Sweden!

But no matter how vintage the design may be: the Beanie is of course not made of wool, but of modern (and much easier to clean) synthetic fibres. As usual it is only available in one size, but in several beautiful colours.

Other interesting products

YMR Track Club did not only catch my attention because they deliver “running classics” in a particularly beautiful design. While browsing through the products I also found very unique pieces.

1984 Plush Sweatshirt Wine red
1984 Plush Sweatshirt Wine red

This wine-red plush sweatshirt for example, is really great. Maybe it’s not really something for running training, but it would definitely make it on my wish list.

I just as much like the singlets and shorts – especially because of the colors.

Running Experiences

What can I say: I just love beautiful design. :) But of course only if the stuff also fulfills its function at the same time. And that is definitely the case with YMR. Fit, comfort and material are very good for both the tight and the longsleeve. Although the tight is not “lined” or roughened from the inside, it can be worn very well even in winter. The back pocket is really wonderfully large, so that my mobile phone had really enough space inside. I will certainly be able to wear the longsleeve from autumn to spring.

Conclusion

Insider's tip!
YMR Track Club is an exciting new discovery. I don’t just like design and function: Eco-Tex certification and Recycling are just as good arguments to take a closer look at this young Swedish brand.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hi! It’s me, the Harlerunner.

This is where Thomas Pier writes about running and (much more than just the necessary) equipment. I don't run particularly fast or far. But I like to share my experiences as an ambitious recreational runner, curious early-adopter and as my own trainer.

I am happy about every digital contacting - but even more so about every kilometer run together.

Strava Badge

YMR Track Club

Wenn ich über eine Marke lese, sie sei das schwedische „Tracksmith“, ist mein Interesse natürlich geweckt. Zumal ich mit skandinavischen Herstellern bisher nur die besten Erfahrungen gemacht habe.

Anzeige: YMR Track Club hat mir die Produkte für diesen Test auf meine Anfrage hin zur Verfügung gestellt. Dies hatte keinen Einfluss auf den Inhalt meines Testberichts. Der Beitrag ist frei verfasst und gibt ausschließlich meine persönlichen Erfahrungen wieder.

YMR Track Club

Das noch junge Label wurde erst 2017 gegründet. Peter Häggström Lindecrantz wollte damit den Style seines Clubs IK Ymer aus den 70ern wieder aufleben lassen. Eigentlich war das wohl nur zur Feier des 100sten Geburstages des Vereins gedacht, doch es wurde schnell mehr daraus – woran ein Artikel in der Vogue wohl nicht ganz unschuldig war. ;)

Peter lässt seine Kleidung nur lokal produzieren und bedient sich dazu der langen Textiltradition der Region „Sjuhärad“ in Västergötland in der er lebt. Für ihn ist Recycling ein großes Thema und so ist die Kollektion „Norr Mälarstrand“ aus dem Polyester von verwerteten PET-Flaschen hergestellt. Natürlich sind die Stoffe Öko-Tex Class1 zertifiziert und auch seine Fabrik hält sich wohl an hohe Umweltstandards.

Produkttest

Norr Mälarstrand Tight

Preis
88 Euro
Aktiv getestet
3 Wochen

Wer sich durch das Angebot auf der Website von YMR Track Club klickt, wird schnell feststellen, dass die Farben der Stücke einfach echt gut geworden sind. Die Norr Mälarstrand Tight gibt es nicht nur in diesem schönen Weinrot, sondern auch in blau und grün. Der 70er-Jahre-Style ist ihr direkt anzusehen – vor allem beim Bündchen und der Verschlußkordel. Ja, das ist eine Old-School-Kordel. Zwar nicht aus Hanf, aber ähnlich unnachgiebig. ;)

Aber Old-School bedeutet nicht unmodern. Natürlich wurde auch daran gedacht, eine Tasche im Rücken unterzubringen, in die ein Smartphone passt. Und das läßt sich dort auch wirklich bequem transportieren.

Das auf winterliche Temperaturen ausgelegt Material wurde auch mit kleinen, reflektierenden Applikationen versehen. Der Beinabschluss ist durch ein Gummi gesichert, hat aber keinen Reißverschluss. Den Sitz fand ich insgesamt wirklich gut – auch wenn die Tight oben nicht so eng sitzt, wie ich es von anderen Modellen gewohnt bin. Es macht also Sinn, die Kordel auch zu benutzen. ;)

Produkttest

Norr Mälarstrand Longsleeve

Preis
73 Euro
Aktiv getestet
3 Wochen

Ganz so klassische Elemente wie bei der Tight findet man beim Norr Mälarstrand Longsleeve nicht. Ich finde es eher sehr modern. Und das nicht nur wegen des Recycling-Materials!

Es ist sehr angenehm geschnitten: nicht zu weit, nicht zu eng. Genau so, wie ich es gerne trage. Was mir neben der schönen Farbe direkt aufgefallen ist, ist die Struktur des Stoffes. Er hat so eine waffel-ähnliche Oberfläche und ist ausserdem angenehm weich – fast schon luxuriös. ;)

Auch die Details hat YMR Track Club nicht vergessen. So gibt es ein ganz praktisches Daumenloch, dass so gut „versteckt“ ist, dass ich es zuerst ganz übersehen hatte.

Produkttest

Warmup Beanie

Herstellerlink
Warmup Beanie
Preis
19 Euro
Aktiv getestet
3 Wochen

Oben drauf (kleines Wortspiel) gab es auch noch eine Mütze zum Testen. Und „warme Mütze“ bedeutet in Schweden wirklich warme Mütze!

Doch so Retro das Design auch hier sein mag: natürlich ist der Beanie nicht aus Wolle, sondern aus modernen (und deutlich pflegeleichteren) Kunstfasern. Wie üblich gibt es ihn nur in einer Einheitsgröße, dafür aber in mehreren schönen Farben.

Weitere spannende Produkte

YMR Track Club ist mir nicht nur aufgefallen, weil sie „Lauf-Klassiker“ in besonders schönem Design liefern. Beim Stöbern durch die Produkte habe ich auch sehr einzigartige Teile gefunden.

1984 Plush Sweatshirt Wine red
1984 Plush Sweatshirt Wine red

Diese weinrote Plüsch-Sweatshirt finde ich zum Beispiel richtig klasse. Ist vielleicht nicht unbedingt etwas fürs Lauftraining, würde es aber in jedem Fall auf meinen Wunschzettel schaffen.

Genau so cool finde ich die Singlets und die Shorts – besonders auch wegen der Farben.

Erfahrungen beim Laufen

Was soll ich sagen: ich stehe einfach auf schönes Design. :) Aber natürlich nur dann, wenn die Sachen gleichzeitig auch ihre Funktion erfüllen. Und das ist bei YMR definitiv der Fall. Passform, Sitz und Material sind sowohl bei der Tight wie auch beim Longsleeve sehr gut. Die Tight ist zwar nicht „gefüttert“ bzw. aufgeraut von innen, lässt sich aber sehr gut auch im Winter tragen. Die Rückentasche ist wirklich wunderbar groß, so daß mein Handy darin wirklich gut Platz hatte. Das Longsleeve werde ich sicher von Herbst bis Frühling tragen können.

Meine Meinung

Geheimtipp!
YMR Track Club ist eine spannende Neuentdeckung. Mir gefällt nicht nur Design und Funktion: Oeko-Tex-Zertifizierung und Recycling sind genau so gute Argumente, sich die junge schwedische Marke mal genauer anzusehen.
Qualität
Funktion
Aussehen
Preis / Leistung
Leserwertung0 Bewertungen0
4.6

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ich bin der Harlerunner

Hier schreibt Thomas Pier über das Laufen und (deutlich mehr als nur die notwendige) Ausrüstung. Ich laufe weder besonders schnell noch weit. Aber ich teile gerne meine Erfahrungen, die ich als ambitionierter Freizeitläufer, neugieriger Early-Adopter und als mein eigener Trainer sammele.

Ich freue mich über jede digitale Kontaktaufnahme - noch mehr allerdings über jeden gemeinsam gelaufenen Kilometer.

Strava Badge