Soar Trail Running

This post is also availiable in German

What makes Soar so special? For me, it’s above all the well thought-out solutions for runners. Or for trail runners, as in this case.

Anzeige: The manufacturer provided me with the products for this test at my request. This had no influence on the content of my test report. The article is freely written and exclusively reflects my personal experiences.



Soar Trail Race Vest

Price

150 Euro

Time Frame

9 weeks


First impression

The Soar Trail Race Vest has inherited the wonderfully thin and airy material of the Race Vest, but combines that with unique functionality for trail runners.

In the chest and back area, Soar uses a material that is still airy but also abrasion-resistant. This makes the Trail Race Vest the most minimal garment that has been developed for use with a running pack.

Minimal refers only to the weight, because there is no lack of functions. So that the trail pack does not chafe the neck, Soar has raised the collar of the vest a little. There is also a zip to regulate the temperature.

Somewhat hidden on the inside of the Soar Trail Race Vest is another small pocket the size of a credit card.

The abrasion-resistant material on the back is so airy that you can easily see through it. Nevertheless, Soar promises long durability.

Running experience

At Soar, the term “race” is usually synonymous with “tight fit”. And that definitely applies to the Trail Race Vest. However, this almost skin-tight cut naturally also means that no annoying wrinkles form under the running pack.

When you run, you immediately forget about the ultra-thin shirt: nothing rubs or pinches. With or without a fully packed running backpack.

The collar turns out to be an ingenious idea on the trails. Sore spots on the neck due to a chafing running pack are now a thing of the past.


Soar Trail Running Shorts

Price

150 Euro

Time Frame

9 weeks


First impression

Actually, the trail running shorts also deserve to be called “race”. Not because of a tight cut (the shorts fit very well, as is typical for Soar), but because of their features.

First of all, it consists of a very thin inner tight, the material of which I already liked very much in the Speed Shorts. On top of that there is a second layer that is very reminiscent of the Marathon Shorts.

The trail running shorts also inherit the system for transporting nutrition from them. The two pockets on the back can easily hold two gels or bars each. There is also a zipped pocket that runs almost the entire width. I can even fit a mobile phone in there.

At the front of the waistband there are four additional loops so that two more gels can be carried. All this is of course in addition to the equipment in the running pack.

Running experience

Ok, ok… I haven’t worn the trail running shorts in a competition once – but I’ve worn them all the time in training. 😉

The inner tight fits perfectly and is very comfortable to wear, especially in high temperatures. The airy look is complemented very well by 2-in-1 shorts – so that I almost prefer wearing the trail running shorts to the race shorts.

On my test runs with gels and small trail adventures, the pockets in the back worked very well for me. Gels and bars are held well and hardly move. Only with long bars can the protruding piece rub against the skin a little.

Conclusion

Soar Trail Running
Appropriate solution
The Soar Trail Race Vest and the Trail Running Shorts are certainly a very good race kit for trail races - especially if you wear a running pack. But I wouldn't want to limit their use to that. I can see the trail running shorts being just as good for training and competitions on the road.
Quality
Function
Enthusiasm
Price / Performance
4.5
Bewertung

This post is also availiable in German

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hi! It’s me, the Harlerunner.

This is where Thomas Pier writes about running and (much more than just the necessary) equipment. I don't run particularly fast or far. But I like to share my experiences as an ambitious recreational runner, curious early-adopter and as my own trainer.

I am happy about every digital contacting - but even more so about every kilometer run together.

Strava Badge
Chat
1
Kann ich Dir helfen?
Scan the code
Hallo! :)

Wenn Du eine Frage hast, kannst Du mir hier gerne eine Nachricht per WhatsApp schicken.

Thomas (der Harlerunner)

Soar Trail Running

Zuletzt aktualisiert:

This post is also availiable in Englisch

Was macht Soar so besonders? Für mich sind es vor allem die gut durchdachten Lösungen für Läufer. Oder für Trail-Läufer wie in diesem Fall.

Anzeige: Der Hersteller hat mir das Produkt für diesen Test auf meine Anfrage hin zur Verfügung gestellt. Dies hatte keinen Einfluss auf den Inhalt meines Testberichts. Der Beitrag ist frei verfasst und gibt ausschließlich meine persönlichen Erfahrungen wieder.



Soar Trail Race Vest

Preis

150 Euro

Aktiv getestet

9 Wochen


Erster Eindruck

Die Soar Trail Race Vest hat das wunderbar dünne und luftige Material der Race Vest geerbt, kombiniert das aber mit einer einzigartigen Funktionalität für Trail-Läufer.

Denn im Bereich von Brust und Rücken setzt Soar ein Material ein, dass weiterhin luftig, aber auch abriebfest ist. Damit dürfte die Trail Race Vest das minimalste Kleidungsstück sein, dass für den Einsatz mit einer Laufweste entwickelt wurde.

Dabei bezieht sich minimal nur auf das Gewicht, denn an Funktionen mangelt es nicht. Damit die Trail-Weste nicht am Hals scheuert, hat Soar den Kragen der Weste etwas höher gezogen. Ausserdem gibt es einen Reißverschluss, mit dem sich zusätzlich die Temperatur regulieren lässt.

Etwas versteckt auf der Innenseite der Soar Trail Race Vest ist noch eine kleine Tasche in der Größe einer Kreditkarte versteckt.

Das abriebfeste Material auf dem Rücken ist so luftig, dass man problemlos hindurch sehen kann. Trotzdem verspricht Soar eine lange Haltbarkeit.

Erfahrungen beim Laufen

Bei Soar ist die Bezeichnung „Race“ meist gleichzusetzen mit „eng geschnitten“. Und das trifft definitiv auch auf die Trail Race Vest zu. Dieser fast hautenge Schnitt führt aber natürlich auch dazu, dass sich unter der Laufweste keine störenden Falten bilden.

Beim Laufen ist das hauchdünne Shirt sofort vergessen: da reibt oder zwickt nichts. Egal ob mit oder ohne vollgepacktem Laufrucksack.

Als genialer Einfall stellt sich auf den Trails der Kragen heraus. Wunde Stellen an Hals und Nacken durch eine scheuernde Laufweste gehören damit der Vergangenheit an.


Soar Trail Running Shorts

Preis

150 Euro

Aktiv getestet

9 Wochen


Erster Eindruck

Eigentlich hätten auch die Trail Running Shorts den Zusatz „Race“ verdient. Nicht wegen einem engen Schnitt (die Shorts sitzen Soar-typisch sehr gut), sondern wegen ihrer Ausstattung.

Zunächst einmal besteht sie aus einer sehr dünnen Innentight, dessen Material mir bei den Speed Shorts schon sehr positiv aufgefallen ist. Darüber gibt es eine zweite Schicht, die sehr an die Marathon Shorts erinnert.

Von denen erbt die Trail Running Shorts auch das System zum Verpflegungstransport. Die beiden Taschen am Rücken fassen locker jeweils zwei Gels oder Riegel. Zusätzlich gibt es noch eine Reißverschlusstasche, die fast über die gesamte Breite geht. Bei mir passt dort sogar gerade so noch ein Handy rein.

Vorne am Hosenbund gibt es zusätzlich vier Schlaufen, so dass zwei weitere Gels transportiert werden können. Das alles natürlich zusätzlich zur Ausrüstung in der Laufweste.

Erfahrungen beim Laufen

Ok, ok… ich habe die Trail Running Shorts nicht ein Mal im Wettkampf getragen – dafür aber andauernd im Training. 😉

Die Innentight sitzt einfach perfekt und ist gerade bei hohen Temperaturen sehr angenehm zu tragen. Die luftige Optik wird durch 2-in-1-Hose sehr gut ergänzt – so daß ich die Trail Running Shorts fast noch lieber als die Race Shorts getragen habe.

Bei meinen Testläufen mit Gels und kleinen Trail-Abenteuern haben die Taschen im Rücken für mich sehr gut funktioniert. Gels und Riegel werden gut gehalten und bewegen sich kaum. Einzig bei langen Riegeln kann es sein, dass das überstehende Stück etwas an der Haut reibt.

Meine Meinung

Soar Trail Running
Angemessene Lösung
Die Soar Trail Race Vest und die Trail Running Shorts sind sicher ein sehr gutes Race-Kit für Trail-Rennen - besonders wenn man dabei eine Laufweste trägt. Doch darauf würde ich ihren Einsatz nicht beschränken wollen. Gerade die Trail Running Shorts sehe ich genau so gut im Training und bei Wettkämpfen auf der Strasse.
Qualität
Funktion
Begeisterung
Preis / Leistung
4.5
Bewertung

This post is also availiable in Englisch

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Ich bin der Harlerunner

Hier schreibt Thomas Pier über das Laufen und (deutlich mehr als nur die notwendige) Ausrüstung. Ich laufe weder besonders schnell noch weit. Aber ich teile gerne meine Erfahrungen, die ich als ambitionierter Freizeitläufer, neugieriger Early-Adopter und als mein eigener Trainer sammele.

Ich freue mich über jede digitale Kontaktaufnahme - noch mehr allerdings über jeden gemeinsam gelaufenen Kilometer.

Strava Badge
Chat
1
Kann ich Dir helfen?
Scan the code
Hallo! :)

Wenn Du eine Frage hast, kannst Du mir hier gerne eine Nachricht per WhatsApp schicken.

Thomas (der Harlerunner)